Skip to content

Funko Disney Mystery Mini

July 28, 2013
tags:

I read about Funko’s new Disney blind box mini figures earlier this year but wasn’t too optimistic about ever finding them, even though they’re super cute and I really wanted to find them. Well, turns out Hot Topic stocks a bunch of different blind box figures (this is not going to be good for my wallet) and I couldn’t say no to this line. All the characters represented are cute, but I am really hoping for Maleficent, Sully, Mike, or Stitch.

Tink (1)

Tink (5)

However, I got Tinker Bell. She is cute, but I’m not fairy-crazy like some girls are. I guess they don’t kick ass as well as superheros or evil villains.

Name: Tinker Bell, Disney Mystery Mini

Even she doesn't look all that impressed

Even she doesn’t look all that impressed

Company: Funko

Back Story: A little bit from wikipedia:

Tinker Bell is a fictional character from J. M. Barrie’s 1904 play Peter Pan and its 1911 novelization Peter and Wendy

Tinker Bell was described by Barrie as a fairy who mended pots and kettles, like an actual tinker. Her speech consists of the sounds of a tinkling bell, which is understandable only to those familiar with the language of the fairies…

Though sometimes ill-tempered, spoiled, and very jealous and vindictive (getting the Lost Boys to shoot arrows at Wendy), at other times she is helpful and kind to Peter…

Tink (3)

Packaging: Being a blind box, there were no windows to look in on the figure and even when I opened the box she was still in a black plastic bag. The box art and back show possible figures available and the probability of getting the figures in one case.

Height: 3.5″ including her hair. Tink’s head is way larger than her body, but feels really light so I think it must be hollow. Otherwise I doubt she’d be able to stand on her own like she does.

Tink (9)

Number of Joints: One. The only movement Tink is capable of is turning her head around, but her body is tiny so I wouldn’t expect anything more.

Hair and Face: Tink’s face is very cartoony and stylized, but the lines are all crisp (probably applied with a decal), and her blond hair is tied up in a little puff of a pony tail with a molded on ribbon. Not extremely detailed. One thing about her eyes that stood out to me right away is that they’re pointed directly in front but that isn’t one of the variants shown on the box, I wonder if the box is wrong or if there are actually more possible variants than shown? It’s not a huge change, but if you were collecting all the figures of a certain character that might be important information.

Tink (8)

Clothing: Tink wears her typical green strapless mini dress and slippers with poms on the toes. The green paint appears to be sprayed on because it got onto the inside of her arms quite a bit. The wings are a cute size and appear to be a separate piece glued on.

Accessories: None.

Overall: Tinker Bell isn’t one of the characters I had wanted so I’ll probably be going back for at least one more of these blind boxes (that’s how they suck you in, I know) but she’s cute. I was really surprised by how light the figure it. It seems like for $7.50 there should have been more substance to her, but she does stand up on her own so that’s a plus. Tinker Bell is very nice, I’m just disappointed I didn’t get a character I really really wanted is all.

~Molly

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 29, 2013 8:08 am

    Pretty cool, the figure is a little pricy as you said, but she’s still adorable.

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

